Best-of list
The best employee monitoring software for small business in 2026
The short answer
The best employee monitoring software for a small business is the one you can afford to keep as you hire: AirStaff costs $99 once for 5 staff and $198 for 15. On a subscription, Backlsh ($2.99) and WebWork ($3.99) have the lowest published per-user prices with screenshots. Clockify’s free plan suits teams that don’t need screenshots.
- 8
- tools ranked, each with one pro and one con
- $99
- AirStaff for 5 staff, paid once
- 25 Sep 2026
- when every price on this page was checked
Buy once from $99 Try the live demo
60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.
Summary
| Tool | Best for | Price | Screenshots | 5 staff, 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. AirStaff | Remote and offshore teams that want screenshots and timesheets without a monthly bill | $99–$396 once | Included on every tier | $99 once |
| 2. Backlsh | Very small teams that want the lowest per-user price with screenshots | $2.99 per user per month; billing basis not stated | Included | $538 |
| 3. WebWork | Teams that want the lowest monthly price with screenshots and invoicing | From $3.99 per user per month, annual | Included from Pro | $718 |
| 4. Hubstaff | Teams that need GPS, invoicing or payroll in the same subscription | From $4.99 per user per month, annual | Included, capped on Starter and Grow | $898 |
| 5. Time Doctor | Teams that want payroll, client login or a Linux app | From $6.67 per user per month, annual | Included from Basic | $1,201 |
| 6. Clockify | Small teams that want free timesheets, or invoicing and time off | Free plan; paid from $3.99 per user per month, annual | Pro plan and above | $1,438 |
| 7. DeskTime | Office and hybrid teams that want shift scheduling and calendar integrations | From $6.42 per user per month, annual | Premium plan and above | $1,651 |
| 8. ActivTrak | Analytics-led teams that do not need screenshots on every plan | From $10 per user per month, annual | Screen Details add-on, price not published | $1,800 |
The 8 tools, one by one
1. AirStaff
- Best for
- Remote and offshore teams that want screenshots and timesheets without a monthly bill
- Price
- $99 once for 5 staff, $198 for 15, $396 for 50
- Screenshots
- Included on every tier; detailed low-res, blurred or off
- Pro
- One payment instead of a per-user subscription, with a 60-day money-back guarantee
- Con
- No GPS, mobile or Linux agent in version 1; integrations are Slack webhooks and CSV export
2. Backlsh
- Best for
- Very small teams that want the lowest per-user price with screenshots
- Price
- $2.99 per user per month; billing basis not stated
- Screenshots
- Included
- Pro
- The lowest published per-user price with screenshots that we found, and a lifetime deal for up to 10 users
- Con
- Its lifetime deals stop at 10 users; the subscription billing basis is not stated
3. WebWork
- Best for
- Teams that want the lowest monthly price with screenshots and invoicing
- Price
- From $3.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included from Pro
- Pro
- Cheapest per-user plan with screenshots, from $3.99
- Con
- Still a per-user subscription; its lifetime deal is sold out
4. Hubstaff
- Best for
- Teams that need GPS, invoicing or payroll in the same subscription
- Price
- From $4.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included, capped on Starter and Grow
- Pro
- Broad feature set, including GPS through an add-on and payroll on Team
- Con
- Screenshots capped at 500 per user per month on Starter
5. Time Doctor
- Best for
- Teams that want payroll, client login or a Linux app
- Price
- From $6.67 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included from Basic
- Pro
- Linux desktop app and payroll from the Standard plan
- Con
- Payroll and integrations start at $11.67 per user per month
6. Clockify
- Best for
- Small teams that want free timesheets, or invoicing and time off
- Price
- Free plan; paid from $3.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Pro plan and above
- Pro
- Free for up to 5 users; invoicing from $5.49
- Con
- Screenshots need the $7.99 Pro plan
7. DeskTime
- Best for
- Office and hybrid teams that want shift scheduling and calendar integrations
- Price
- From $6.42 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Premium plan and above
- Pro
- Shift scheduling, absence calendar and many integrations on Premium
- Con
- Screenshots only on Premium ($9.17), not on Pro
8. ActivTrak
- Best for
- Analytics-led teams that do not need screenshots on every plan
- Price
- From $10 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Screen Details add-on, price not published
- Pro
- Free plan for 3 people, plus productivity and workforce analytics
- Con
- Annual contracts only; screenshots need the Screen Details add-on
How we ranked them
The ranking is for one buyer: a small business with 5 to 15 staff on Windows or Mac computers that wants tracked time, activity and screenshots, and wants the bill to stay small as it hires. After AirStaff, tools are grouped by whether screenshots are included in the plan price, sold as an add-on, or not offered, then ordered by the published price of the cheapest plan that includes them.
AirStaff is first because this is AirStaff’s site, and because one payment costs less than every subscription on this list within the first year, at 5, 15 or 50 staff. That is a statement about price, not about features: Hubstaff, Time Doctor and Clockify each do things AirStaff does not, and their cards say what. If you need GPS for field staff, payroll in the same tool or invoicing, weight those first.
What should a small business look for in monitoring software?
Small teams feel two costs that larger companies can absorb: a bill that grows with every hire, and the time it takes to look at the data. Five things decide whether a tool keeps earning its place.
- The plan you will actually buy. Several tools list a low entry price that leaves screenshots out. Clockify’s screenshots start on Pro and DeskTime’s on Premium, and Hubstaff’s Starter caps them at 500 per user per month. Compare the plan that has what you need.
- Cost as you grow. Per-user pricing is fine at three people and very different at fifteen. Multiply it out over three years, not one month.
- Exceptions, not screens. Nobody in a ten-person business has time to scroll screenshots. Look for red flags, a team overview and a weekly summary, so you only open the people who need a look.
- Fair to staff. Staff should accept a notice before anything is recorded, see their own data, and never be tracked while clocked out. It is the difference between a tool people accept and one they work around.
- Timesheets you can pay from. Approvals, a record of manual changes and a CSV or PDF export matter more than another chart.
Before you monitor anyone in Australia, read our workplace surveillance notice guide: New South Wales and the ACT require written notice before computer surveillance starts.
What does monitoring five staff cost over three years?
Each tool’s cheapest plan with screenshots, at published prices, with no add-ons or tax. Higher plans widen the gap.
| Tool and plan | Per user / month | 1 year | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backlsh Premium | $2.99 | $179 | $538 | $897 |
| WebWork Pro | $3.99 | $239 | $718 | $1,197 |
| Hubstaff Starter | $4.99 | $299 | $898 | $1,497 |
| Time Doctor Basic | $6.67 | $400 | $1,201 | $2,001 |
| Clockify Pro | $7.99 | $479 | $1,438 | $2,397 |
| DeskTime Premium | $9.17 | $550 | $1,651 | $2,751 |
| ActivTrak Work Activity Tracking | $10 | $600 | $1,800 | $3,000 |
| AirStaff Tier 1 | — | $99 once | $99 | $99 |
The full method, and every other team size, is in lifetime vs subscription: the real cost.
What your staff experience
Staff did not choose the tracker, so what they see matters as much as the price. On AirStaff:
- Nothing is recorded until they accept a monitoring notice, and notice periods such as the 14 days required in New South Wales run first.
- Keyboard and mouse activity is counted, never captured. There is no keystroke log.
- They can see which screenshot mode is on, and screenshots are deleted after 60 days by default.
- Their own “My data” view shows the same hours, screenshots and activity their manager sees, with a one-click download.
- Nothing is recorded while they are clocked out, and idle time is never counted as paid time.
The detail is on the privacy-first monitoring page.
Related reading
Sources and how we checked
Prices checked on each vendor’s own pricing page, in US dollars per user per month on annual billing unless stated. Backlsh publishes one price without saying whether it is an annual or monthly rate, and its lifetime-deal prices are from the deal sites’ own listings. Plans and prices change — check the vendor’s page before you decide.
- Backlsh pricing page (Premium plan, screenshots, no keystrokes)
- Dealify listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- DealMirror listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- WebWork pricing page (plans, screenshots, features)
- AppSumo listing for WebWork (lifetime deal sold out)
- Hubstaff pricing guide (plans, screenshot caps, add-ons)
- Hubstaff pricing page (trial)
- Time Doctor pricing plans and features (support article)
- Time Doctor pricing page (plan features, platforms)
- Clockify pricing page (plans and features)
- Clockify help: screenshots require Pro or Enterprise
- DeskTime pricing page (plans, screenshots, integrations)
- ActivTrak pricing page (plans, free plan, billing, Screen Details)
Backlsh, WebWork, Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Clockify, DeskTime, ActivTrak are trademarks of their owners. AirStaff is not affiliated with or endorsed by any company named on this page. No competitor logos or screenshots are used.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best employee monitoring software for a small business?
For a team of 5 to 15 on Windows or Mac that wants screenshots, activity and timesheets without a monthly bill, AirStaff: $99 once for 5 staff and $198 for 15. If you need GPS, payroll or invoicing in the same tool, Hubstaff or Time Doctor may suit you better, at a per-user monthly price.
What is the cheapest employee monitoring software that includes screenshots?
Over more than a few months, a one-off licence: AirStaff is $99 once for 5 staff. Among subscriptions checked on 25 Sep 2026, Backlsh publishes US$2.99 per user per month and WebWork Pro US$3.99 on annual billing, both with screenshots included.
Is there free employee monitoring software for a small team?
Yes, with limits. Clockify is free for up to 5 users and ActivTrak is free for up to 3 people with 30 days of history. Neither free plan includes screenshots. AirStaff has no free plan, but its live demo needs no signup and direct purchases carry a 60-day money-back guarantee.
How much does employee monitoring cost a business with 15 staff?
At published annual prices, 15 staff on Hubstaff Starter cost $898 a year and on Time Doctor Basic $1,201 a year, before add-ons and tax. AirStaff Tier 2 covers 15 staff for $198, once.
Do I have to tell my staff before I start monitoring them?
In New South Wales and the ACT, yes: the law requires written notice at least 14 days before surveillance starts, unless the staff member agrees to a shorter period. Elsewhere the rules differ. AirStaff blocks tracking until each person accepts a monitoring notice. This is general information, not legal advice.
Can a small business owner see what staff type with monitoring software?
With some products, yes; with AirStaff, no. AirStaff counts keyboard and mouse events to produce an activity percentage but never records what was typed. Our guide to monitoring without keylogging explains what is worth capturing and what is not.
What happens to the cost when a small business grows past 15 staff?
On a subscription the bill grows with every hire. With AirStaff you stack another code: Tier 3 covers 30 staff for $297 and Tier 4 covers 50 for $396, in total. Beyond 50, extra seats are $3 per seat per month.
Try the one you pay for once.
One payment, no renewals, and a 60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.