Price index
Time tracking software prices in 2026: the index
The short answer
Time tracking software prices in 2026 run from $2.99 to $32 per user per month (a third-party figure) across the 14 subscription trackers we checked. The median plan with screenshots is $6.58 per user per month, or $1,184 a year for 15 staff. AirStaff is $198 once for 15.
- 14
- per-user subscription trackers priced, each with a source link
- $6.58
- median published price of a plan with screenshots, per user per month, annual billing
- 30%
- average extra charged for paying monthly instead of annually, where both are published
Buy once from $99 Try the live demo
60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.
The 2026 index
One row per tracker, sorted by the price of its cheapest plan with screenshots (or its cheapest paid plan, where screenshots are an add-on or not offered). Prices are the vendor’s published price per user per month, on annual billing where the vendor publishes one, before add-ons and tax.
| Tool | Cheapest paid plan | Top published plan | Cheapest plan with screenshots | Free plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirStaff | $99–$396 once | — | Every tier, from $99 once | No; live demo |
| Backlsh | $2.99 (basis not stated) | — | Premium: $2.99 (basis not stated) | No |
| WebWork | $3.99 | $7.19 | Pro: $3.99 | No |
| Apploye | $4.50 | $8 | Elite: $4.50 | Yes |
| Hubstaff | $4.99 | $10 | Starter: $4.99 | No |
| Monitask | $6.49 | $12.99 | Pro: $6.49 | No |
| Time Doctor | $6.67 | $16.70 | Basic: $6.67 | No |
| Controlio | $6.67 | $9.99 | Basic: $6.67 | No |
| Clockify | $3.99 | $11.99 | Pro: $7.99 | Yes |
| Insightful | $8 | $16 | Paid add-on, $3–$4 per seat | No |
| Toggl Track | $9 | $16 | None, by design | Yes |
| DeskTime | $6.42 | $9.17 | Premium: $9.17 | No |
| TimeCamp | $3.99 | $9.99 | Ultimate: $9.99 | Yes |
| ActivTrak | $10 | $21 | Screen Details add-on, price not published | No |
| Teramind | $14 (third-party figure) | $32 (third-party figure) | Not verified | No |
What 15 staff pay, cheapest to dearest
The same trackers, priced for a team of 15 on the plan used in our cost tables: the cheapest plan that includes screenshots, or the cheapest paid plan where screenshots are an add-on or not offered.
| Tool and plan | Per user / month | 1 year | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| AirStaff Tier 2 | — | $198 once | $198 |
| Backlsh Premium | $2.99 (basis not stated) | $538 | $1,615 |
| WebWork Pro | $3.99 | $718 | $2,155 |
| Apploye Elite | $4.50 | $810 | $2,430 |
| Hubstaff Starter | $4.99 | $898 | $2,695 |
| Monitask Pro | $6.49 | $1,168 | $3,505 |
| Time Doctor Basic | $6.67 | $1,201 | $3,602 |
| Controlio Basic | $6.67 | $1,201 | $3,602 |
| Clockify Pro | $7.99 | $1,438 | $4,315 |
| Insightful Workforce Analytics | $8 | $1,440 | $4,320 |
| Toggl Track Starter | $9 | $1,620 | $4,860 |
| DeskTime Premium | $9.17 | $1,651 | $4,952 |
| TimeCamp Ultimate | $9.99 | $1,798 | $5,395 |
| ActivTrak Work Activity Tracking | $10 | $1,800 | $5,400 |
| Teramind Starter | $14 (third-party figure) | $2,520 | $7,560 |
What the index shows
- Screenshots are not always on the cheapest plan. 3 of the 10 trackers that include screenshots in a plan keep them off their cheapest paid plan (DeskTime, Clockify, TimeCamp), and Insightful and ActivTrak sell them as add-ons.
- Paying monthly costs more. Where a vendor publishes both rates for the same plan, monthly billing is on average 30% dearer than annual.
- Free plans rarely include screenshots. 4 of the 14 have a free plan (Clockify, Toggl Track, Apploye, TimeCamp); only Apploye’s free plan takes screenshots, at 1 an hour.
- Minimums and hidden prices exist. Controlio requires at least 5 users. Teramind does not publish prices at all; its figures are from a third-party review.
- Every one of them is a subscription. None of the 14 sells a lifetime licence on its own site. Backlsh sells lifetime deals through deal sites, covered in the lifetime time tracking guide.
How the index is compiled
We read each vendor’s own pricing page and record every plan’s published price per user per month, on annual and monthly billing where both are shown. Teramind is the exception: it hides its prices, so we use a named third-party review and label it. Backlsh publishes one price without saying whether it is an annual or monthly rate, and is labelled too.
The index is rebuilt from the same data as every comparison page on this site, so a price change is corrected everywhere at once. The site’s build refuses to publish competitor prices more than 120 days old, so the index is re-checked at least every quarter. To model your own team size, plan and number of years, use the cost calculator.
Citing this index
You are welcome to quote or link to this index. Please cite it as:
AirStaff, “Time tracking software prices in 2026: the index”, https://www.airstaff.net/guides/time-tracking-software-prices/, prices checked 25 Sep 2026.
If you spot a price that has changed, email info@airstaff.net and we will correct it.
Related reading
Sources and how we checked
Prices checked on each vendor’s own pricing page, in US dollars per user per month on annual billing unless stated. Teramind does not publish prices; its figures are from a third-party review and are labelled as such. Backlsh publishes one price without saying whether it is an annual or monthly rate, and its lifetime-deal prices are from the deal sites’ own listings. Plans and prices change — check the vendor’s page before you decide.
Apploye, Monitask, TimeCamp, Controlio were checked on 27 Sep 2026; every other price on 25 Sep 2026.
- Hubstaff pricing guide (plans, screenshot caps, add-ons)
- Hubstaff pricing page (trial)
- Time Doctor pricing plans and features (support article)
- Time Doctor pricing page (plan features, platforms)
- Insightful pricing page (plans and add-ons)
- ActivTrak pricing page (plans, free plan, billing, Screen Details)
- DeskTime pricing page (plans, screenshots, integrations)
- Teramind pricing page (plans; prices not shown)
- Third-party figures: WorkTime Teramind review (2026)
- Clockify pricing page (plans and features)
- Clockify help: screenshots require Pro or Enterprise
- WebWork pricing page (plans, screenshots, features)
- AppSumo listing for WebWork (lifetime deal sold out)
- Toggl Track pricing page (plans, no screenshots)
- Backlsh pricing page (Premium plan, screenshots, no keystrokes)
- Dealify listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- DealMirror listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- Apploye pricing page (plans, screenshots per hour, trial)
- Monitask pricing page (plans, screenshots, trial)
- TimeCamp pricing page (plans, screenshots on Ultimate)
- Controlio pricing page (plans, 5-user minimum, trial)
Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Insightful, ActivTrak, DeskTime, Teramind, Clockify, WebWork, Toggl Track, Backlsh, Apploye, Monitask, TimeCamp, Controlio are trademarks of their owners. AirStaff is not affiliated with or endorsed by any company named on this page. No competitor logos or screenshots are used.
Questions people actually ask
How much does time tracking software cost per user per month in 2026?
Across the 14 subscription trackers we checked, published prices run from US$2.99 to US$32 per user per month on annual billing, and the median plan that includes screenshots is US$6.58. Most also charge more for monthly billing.
What is the cheapest time tracking software with screenshots?
Over more than a few months, AirStaff, because it is one payment from $99. Among subscriptions, Backlsh publishes the lowest figure at US$2.99 per user per month (billing basis not stated), and WebWork Pro is US$3.99 on annual billing. Apploye’s free plan takes 1 screenshot an hour.
How much more does monthly billing cost than annual billing?
On average 30% more, across the plans where the vendor publishes both rates. Paying annually saves money but locks you in for a year; AirStaff avoids the choice by being a single payment.
Which time tracking tools have a free plan in 2026?
Clockify, Toggl Track, Apploye, TimeCamp. Of those, only Apploye’s free plan includes screenshots, at 1 an hour. AirStaff has no free plan, but its live demo needs no signup and direct purchases have a 60-day money-back guarantee.
What do 15 staff pay for time tracking software each year?
From $538 on Backlsh Premium to $2,520 on Teramind Starter (third-party figure), at published prices on the plan we use for comparisons. AirStaff Tier 2 covers 15 staff for $198 once.
How often is this time tracking price index updated?
At least every quarter. It is built from the same data as the comparison pages on this site, and the build will not publish competitor prices older than 120 days.
Tracking your team can live with, paid for once.
One payment, no renewals, and a 60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.