Best-of list
The best time tracking software with screenshots in 2026
The short answer
Time tracking software with screenshots is common, but the plan that includes them often isn’t the cheapest one. AirStaff includes screenshots on every tier, from $99 once for 5 staff. On subscriptions, Backlsh ($2.99) and WebWork Pro ($3.99 per user per month) are the lowest published prices with screenshots included.
- 9
- tools ranked, each with one pro and one con
- 4
- of them keep screenshots off their cheapest plan, or sell them as an add-on
- 60 days
- AirStaff’s default screenshot retention, then deleted nightly
Buy once from $99 Try the live demo
60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.
Summary
| Tool | Best for | Price | Screenshots | 15 staff, 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. AirStaff | Remote and offshore teams that want screenshots and timesheets without a monthly bill | $99–$396 once | Included on every tier | $198 once |
| 2. Backlsh | Very small teams that want the lowest per-user price with screenshots | $2.99 per user per month; billing basis not stated | Included | $1,615 |
| 3. WebWork | Teams that want the lowest monthly price with screenshots and invoicing | From $3.99 per user per month, annual | Included from Pro | $2,155 |
| 4. Hubstaff | Teams that need GPS, invoicing or payroll in the same subscription | From $4.99 per user per month, annual | Included, capped on Starter and Grow | $2,695 |
| 5. Time Doctor | Teams that want payroll, client login or a Linux app | From $6.67 per user per month, annual | Included from Basic | $3,602 |
| 6. Clockify | Small teams that want free timesheets, or invoicing and time off | Free plan; paid from $3.99 per user per month, annual | Pro plan and above | $4,315 |
| 7. DeskTime | Office and hybrid teams that want shift scheduling and calendar integrations | From $6.42 per user per month, annual | Premium plan and above | $4,952 |
| 8. Insightful | Larger organisations that want analytics depth and SSO | From $8 per user per month, annual | Paid add-on, $3–$4 per seat | $4,320 |
| 9. ActivTrak | Analytics-led teams that do not need screenshots on every plan | From $10 per user per month, annual | Screen Details add-on, price not published | $5,400 |
The 9 tools, one by one
1. AirStaff
- Best for
- Remote and offshore teams that want screenshots and timesheets without a monthly bill
- Price
- $99 once for 5 staff, $198 for 15, $396 for 50
- Screenshots
- Included on every tier; detailed low-res, blurred or off
- Pro
- One payment instead of a per-user subscription, with a 60-day money-back guarantee
- Con
- No GPS, mobile or Linux agent in version 1; integrations are Slack webhooks and CSV export
2. Backlsh
- Best for
- Very small teams that want the lowest per-user price with screenshots
- Price
- $2.99 per user per month; billing basis not stated
- Screenshots
- Included
- Pro
- The lowest published per-user price with screenshots that we found, and a lifetime deal for up to 10 users
- Con
- Its lifetime deals stop at 10 users; the subscription billing basis is not stated
3. WebWork
- Best for
- Teams that want the lowest monthly price with screenshots and invoicing
- Price
- From $3.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included from Pro
- Pro
- Cheapest per-user plan with screenshots, from $3.99
- Con
- Still a per-user subscription; its lifetime deal is sold out
4. Hubstaff
- Best for
- Teams that need GPS, invoicing or payroll in the same subscription
- Price
- From $4.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included, capped on Starter and Grow
- Pro
- Broad feature set, including GPS through an add-on and payroll on Team
- Con
- Screenshots capped at 500 per user per month on Starter
5. Time Doctor
- Best for
- Teams that want payroll, client login or a Linux app
- Price
- From $6.67 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Included from Basic
- Pro
- Linux desktop app and payroll from the Standard plan
- Con
- Payroll and integrations start at $11.67 per user per month
6. Clockify
- Best for
- Small teams that want free timesheets, or invoicing and time off
- Price
- Free plan; paid from $3.99 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Pro plan and above
- Pro
- Free for up to 5 users; invoicing from $5.49
- Con
- Screenshots need the $7.99 Pro plan
7. DeskTime
- Best for
- Office and hybrid teams that want shift scheduling and calendar integrations
- Price
- From $6.42 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Premium plan and above
- Pro
- Shift scheduling, absence calendar and many integrations on Premium
- Con
- Screenshots only on Premium ($9.17), not on Pro
8. Insightful
- Best for
- Larger organisations that want analytics depth and SSO
- Price
- From $8 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Paid add-on, $3–$4 per seat
- Pro
- Workforce analytics, integrations and on-premise option
- Con
- Screenshots cost extra: $3–$4 per seat per month on top of the plan
9. ActivTrak
- Best for
- Analytics-led teams that do not need screenshots on every plan
- Price
- From $10 per user per month, annual
- Screenshots
- Screen Details add-on, price not published
- Pro
- Free plan for 3 people, plus productivity and workforce analytics
- Con
- Annual contracts only; screenshots need the Screen Details add-on
How we ranked them
The job: a remote or office team on Windows or Mac that wants screenshots as proof of work, and wants to pay as little as possible over several years. After AirStaff, tools are grouped by whether screenshots are included in the plan price or sold as an add-on, then ordered by the published price of the cheapest plan that includes them. Screenshot caps and retention are listed on each card and in the plan table below.
AirStaff is first because this is AirStaff’s site and because one payment costs less than every plan here within the first year. Insightful and ActivTrak rank lower only because their screenshots cost extra: both are stronger analytics tools than AirStaff, and Time Doctor offers screen video as an add-on, which AirStaff does not record at all.
Which plan do you need to get screenshots?
This is where most comparisons go wrong. The entry price is often for a plan without screenshots, or with a monthly cap.
| Tool | Cheapest paid plan | Cheapest with screenshots | What the vendor says about screenshots |
|---|---|---|---|
| AirStaff | $99 once (5 staff) | $99 once (5 staff) | Included on every tier: detailed low-res by default, blurred at capture, or off; deleted after 60 days by default |
| Backlsh | $2.99, billing basis not stated | Premium, $2.99 | Yes, periodic screenshots on its single Premium plan |
| WebWork | $3.99 | Pro, $3.99 | Yes. Up to 3 per 10 minutes with 3-month retention on Pro; up to 10 per 10 minutes with 1-year retention on Plus and Premium |
| Hubstaff | $4.99 | Starter, $4.99 | Yes. Capped at 500 per user per month on Starter and 1,500 on Grow; unlimited on Team and Enterprise |
| Time Doctor | $6.67 | Basic, $6.67 | Yes, from the Basic plan |
| Clockify | $3.99 | Pro, $7.99 | Pro and Enterprise only |
| DeskTime | $6.42 | Premium, $9.17 | Premium and Enterprise only — not on Pro |
| Insightful | $8 | Workforce Analytics, $8, plus an add-on | Paid add-ons: on-demand screenshots $4 and increased-frequency screenshots $3 per seat per month |
| ActivTrak | $10 | Work Activity Tracking, $10, plus an add-on | Through the Screen Details add-on on the Work Activity Tracking and Workforce Management plans; add-on price not published |
How should screenshots be captured and kept?
A screenshot is the most sensitive thing a time tracker holds: it can show a bank balance, a medical booking or a private message that happened to be open. Four questions separate a sensible setup from a risky one.
- Resolution. Full-resolution captures show everything. AirStaff’s default is detailed but low-resolution: readable, shrunk to 1024px and compressed to roughly 50–90 KB.
- Blur at capture, not after. A screenshot blurred later still existed in readable form. In AirStaff’s Blurred mode the readable frame is never written to disk.
- How long they are kept. WebWork keeps screenshots for 3 months on Pro and a year on Plus and Premium. AirStaff deletes them after 60 days by default; you can set 7 to 180.
- Whether staff know. Staff should see which mode is on and see their own screenshots. In AirStaff both are in the staff member’s My data view.
What screenshots should never be: continuous screen video, or a substitute for looking at the work itself. Our guide to monitoring without keylogging covers the rest of a privacy-first setup.
What your staff experience
Staff did not choose the tracker, so what they see matters as much as the price. On AirStaff:
- Nothing is recorded until they accept a monitoring notice, and notice periods such as the 14 days required in New South Wales run first.
- Keyboard and mouse activity is counted, never captured. There is no keystroke log.
- They can see which screenshot mode is on, and screenshots are deleted after 60 days by default.
- Their own “My data” view shows the same hours, screenshots and activity their manager sees, with a one-click download.
- Nothing is recorded while they are clocked out, and idle time is never counted as paid time.
The detail is on the privacy-first monitoring page.
Related reading
Sources and how we checked
Prices checked on each vendor’s own pricing page, in US dollars per user per month on annual billing unless stated. Backlsh publishes one price without saying whether it is an annual or monthly rate, and its lifetime-deal prices are from the deal sites’ own listings. Plans and prices change — check the vendor’s page before you decide.
- Backlsh pricing page (Premium plan, screenshots, no keystrokes)
- Dealify listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- DealMirror listing for Backlsh (lifetime deal tiers)
- WebWork pricing page (plans, screenshots, features)
- AppSumo listing for WebWork (lifetime deal sold out)
- Hubstaff pricing guide (plans, screenshot caps, add-ons)
- Hubstaff pricing page (trial)
- Time Doctor pricing plans and features (support article)
- Time Doctor pricing page (plan features, platforms)
- Clockify pricing page (plans and features)
- Clockify help: screenshots require Pro or Enterprise
- DeskTime pricing page (plans, screenshots, integrations)
- Insightful pricing page (plans and add-ons)
- ActivTrak pricing page (plans, free plan, billing, Screen Details)
Backlsh, WebWork, Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Clockify, DeskTime, Insightful, ActivTrak are trademarks of their owners. AirStaff is not affiliated with or endorsed by any company named on this page. No competitor logos or screenshots are used.
Questions people actually ask
Which time tracking software takes screenshots on its cheapest plan?
Of the tools on this page, AirStaff, Backlsh, WebWork, Hubstaff and Time Doctor include screenshots on their cheapest paid plan, though Hubstaff Starter caps them at 500 per user per month. Clockify needs Pro, DeskTime needs Premium, and Insightful and ActivTrak sell them as add-ons.
What is the cheapest time tracking software with screenshots?
Over more than a few months, AirStaff, at $99 once for 5 staff. Among subscriptions, Backlsh publishes US$2.99 per user per month without stating a billing basis, and WebWork Pro is US$3.99 on annual billing, checked 25 Sep 2026.
Can screenshots be blurred so managers cannot read the screen?
In AirStaff, yes. Blurred mode blurs at the moment of capture, so the readable frame is never saved. The default is detailed but low-resolution, and screenshots can also be turned off. Staff can see which mode is in use.
How often do screenshot time trackers capture the screen?
It varies by tool and setting. WebWork lists up to 3 screenshots per 10 minutes on Pro and up to 10 on Plus and Premium, and Insightful sells an add-on for up to 120 an hour. AirStaff takes periodic screenshots, only while the person is clocked in.
How long should a business keep screenshots of staff screens?
Only as long as you need them to check a timesheet or settle a question, which for most teams is a pay period or two. AirStaff deletes screenshots after 60 days by default and lets you set anything from 7 to 180 days.
Does Toggl Track take screenshots of staff screens?
No. Toggl says it does not take screenshots or record keystrokes, by design, which is why it is not ranked on this page. It suits freelancers tracking their own billable time rather than businesses that want proof of work.
Are screenshots in time trackers legal in Australia?
Screenshots are a form of computer surveillance, which New South Wales and the ACT regulate: written notice at least 14 days before it starts, and a policy staff are made aware of. Other states differ. This is general information, not legal advice; see our workplace surveillance notice guide.
Try the one you pay for once.
One payment, no renewals, and a 60-day money-back guarantee on every direct purchase.